by Teija Niku

supported by
  • Compact Disc (CD)

    Accordionist Teija Niku's third solo album 'Hetkessä'. Comes in a glossy six page digipack with beautiful design and descriptions of each of the 11 tracks on the album.

    All music composed, arranged, produced and recorded by Teija Niku

    Track list
    1. Hetki 03:17
    2. Kotva 03:05
    3. Salakavala 02:53
    4. Tuntu 02:39
    5. Roihu 05:36
    6. Syvyydessä 04:32
    7. Vuoden ensimmäinen päivä 02:39
    8. Lento 03:04
    9. Aika 03:31
    10. Peshekee 04:36
    11. Pohjatuuli 07:03

    In the Finnish language, ‘hetkessä’ has two somewhat contrasting definitions: ‘to be in the moment’ and ‘happening in seconds’. These meanings characterize both Niku’s artistic persona and her working methods, which intermixed to create this unique album.

    ‘Hetkessä’ was born purely out of an artist’s personal need to create new music without deadlines or externally dictated terms, instead relying strongly on intuition. Experimenting with a wide range of registers, dynamics, technical possibilities and spontaneous improvisations, the inspiration for this new music was formed. At the center of the resulting material lies the accordion’s expressive power combined with Niku’s musical idiom.

    The majority of the album’s material was composed and arranged by Niku in autumn 2018. With the addition of a few solo versions of earlier compositions, she self-recorded the completed album at her studio in Töölö, Helsinki.

    The album was released by Ääniä Records www.aania.fi on June 12, 2019


    ... more
    ships out within 3 days

      €20 EUR or more 



released July 10, 2019



Teija Niku Helsinki, Finland

contact / help

Contact Teija Niku

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns